Maybank lifted their game at the right time to inflict a 4-2 defeat over Sapura that gave them the vital three points to snatch the TNBMHL Premier Division runner up spot at the National Hockey Stadium.

The win by the Tigers renders the match between Tenaga Nasional Berhand against Terengganu HT of academic interest and the bankers move into the semi finals by virtue of finishing second

It was a tremendous achievement by Maybank given the fact that the last time they achieved success by winning was in 1994 when they won the league and overall titles while in 1995 Maybank were the league champions.

They were however league runner-up in 1999, a good 14 years ago.


But victory was not easy to come by for Maybank as they trailed to a Dangerous Lee goal in the 8th minute before drawing level through a penalty corner converted by Muhammad Irfan in the 18th minute.

Maybank then took the lead in the 41st minute with Shakeel Abbasi getting his name on the scoring charts only for Sapura to draw level with Mohd Razali Mohd Zulkifli scoring five minutes later.

But Maybank were not to be denied as two goals through Muhammad Waqas ( 57th minute) and Shakeel (69th minute) ensured them of a podium finish after a hiatus of 18 years.

"It is definitely a great sense of achievement but we have no time to think of it as the knock-out competition starts in ten days time for us," said maybank team manager Abdul Rahim Musa.

"We aim to make the finals and as such we need to keep our focus on the challenges ahead. I am proud of the achievement of the team and I must credit the coaches and players for their hard work."

Meanwhile the young UniKL side defeated Nur Insafi Warriors 4-2 and more importantly Mohd Noor Faeez Ibrahim notched up two goals to take his personal tally to 13 goals in the MHL, tying the top spot with Khasif Ali of Sapura.

Faeez opened scoring for UniKL in the 9th minute through a penalty corner before Mohd Fitri Ismail doubled the score in the 19th minute. A penalty stroke converted by Faeez in the 57th minute gave UniKL a comfortable 3-0 lead.

But their game went to shambles as Nur Insafi pulled two goals back through brothers Nur Mushawir and Nur Hrikesa in the 59th and 65th minutes respectively.

Taufik Abdul Hamid made sure of the three points in the 68th minute.

In the final match of the day, TNB defeated Terengganu HT 4-3 to finish third in the standings while Terengganu finished fifth.

TNB shot into the lead in the 2nd minute through Mohd Shahril Saabah before Mohd Amin Rahim converted a penalty corner in the 10th minute to double their advantage.

However Terengganu reduced the deficit in the 15th minute by Azlan Misron. Fitri saari then converted their eight penalty corner in the 48th minute to make it 2-2.

TNB awoke from their slumber to slot in two quick goals, through Azammi Abadi ( 49th minute) and Norhizzat Sumantri ( 51st minute) to lead 4-2.

Tengku Ahmad Tajuddin Tg Jalil reduced the deficit for Terengganu in the 62nd minute.







Copyright Dhaliwal Event Management Sdn Bhd © 2013. All Rights Reserved.