It was touted to be a professionally run league. But the team manager's meeting at the Bukit Jalil Stadium this morning proved that there is lack of professionalism on the part of the Malaysian Hockey Federation and certain teams.

The registration of players was to be completed at the meeting but MHF opted to give teams an extension until next Friday to sort out the registration, obviously to allow some teams to finalise their foreign legion.

At the end of the meeting, the only teams that have confirmed their registration of foreign players were Sapura, UniKL, KL Hockey Club and Nur Insafi while YNS are still negotiating with some players in India as well as trying to get Harendra Singh to coach their side.

The teams that will rely on local talent to spearhead their challenge are Tenaga Nasional, Maybank, Armed Forces and Uitm.

Former champions YNS are said to have secured the services of Deepak Thakur, Prabjhot Singh of India as well as Shakeel Abbasi from Pakistan. They are also said to have registered two junior players from India as well as two Bangladesh players that played in the recent Asian Games.


KL Hockey Club will have the services of Sohail Abbas while Sapura have registered Rehan Butt of Pakistan, South Korea's Lim Woo Guen and Welsh second choice keeper David James Kettle.

UniKL, coached by Kiwi Darren Smith will field four foreign players in the likes of New Zealander's, in keeper Steve Graham and defender Richard Patrick as well as Germany's Philip Stahr and Kevin Lim, whose father is a Malaysian.

Nur Insafi have a host of foreign legion, having opted to register Ramesh Kumar, Abdul Asim Khan, Imran Khan Yusouf Zai, Prem Kumar, Bikash Toppo, Shahbir Ahmad Khan, Khasif Ali, Vivek, Veerachamy Raja and Jitendra Saroha.




Copyright Dhaliwal Event Management Sdn Bhd © 2013. All Rights Reserved.